Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee


Ana Fred
Instituto de Telecomunicações and Instituto Superior Técnico (University of Lisbon)

Brief Bio
Ana Fred received the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical and Computer Engineering, in 1989 and 1994, respectively, both from Instituto Superior Técnico (IST), Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal. She is a Faculty Member of IST since 1986, where she has been a professor with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and more recently with the Department of Biomedical Engineering. She is a researcher at the Pattern and Image Analysis Group of the Instituto de Telecomunicações. Her main research areas are on pattern recognition, both structural and statistical approaches, with application to data mining, learning systems, behavioral biometrics, and biomedical applications. She has done pioneering work on clustering, namely on cluster ensemble approaches. Recent work on biosensors hardware (including BITalino – and ECG-based biometrics (Vitalidi project) have been object of several nacional and internacional awards, as well as wide dissemination on international media, constituting a success story of knowledge transfer from research to market. She has published over 160 papers in international refereed conferences, peer reviewed journals, and book chapters. ... More >>


Luis E. Anido-Rifon, University of Vigo, Spain
Alessandro Artusi, Constantinou Paleologou 1, Tryfon Building | Nicosia 1011, Cyprus, RISE Ltd, Cyprus
George Awad, National Institute Standards Technology, United States
Nebojsa Bacanin, Faculty of Informatics and Computing, Singidunum University, Serbia
Rodrigo C. Barros, Escola Politécnica, Pontificia Universidade Católica do Rio Grande Sul, Brazil
Hasan Bulut, Ege University, Turkey
Matias Carrasco Kind, University Illinois Urbana Champaign, United States
Stefano Cavuoti, Department of Physics "E. Pancini", University of Naples Federico II, Italy
Stephan Chalup, Computing and Information Technology, The University Newcastle, Australia
Claudio Cusano, Dep. of Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering, University of Pavia, Italy
Yang Dai, Bioengineering, University Illinois Chicago, United States
Marcilio de Souto, University of Orléans, France
Bernadette Dorizzi, Institut Mines-Telecom, Telecom SudParis, France
Ke-Lin Du, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Concordia University Montréal, Canada
Corneliu Florea, Politehnica of Bucharest, Laboratory of Image Processing and Analysis, Applied Electronics and Information Engineering, Romania
Gilles B. Guillot, Data Science, CSL Behring / Swiss Institute for Translational and Entrepreneurial Medicine, Switzerland
Pengyu Hong, Computer Science, Brandeis University, United States
Chih-Chin Lai, National University Kaohsiung, Taiwan, Republic of China
Chang-Hsing Lee, Bachelor Program in Industrial Artificial Intelligence, Ming Chi University of Technology, Taiwan, Republic of China
Fuhai Li, Institute for informatics, Washington University Saint Louis, United States
Huaqing Li, College of Electronic and Information Engineering, Southwest University, China
Yung-Hui Li, National Central University, Taiwan, Republic of China
Ge Li, Peking University, China
Simon Liao, Applied Computer Science, University Winnipeg, Canada
Yang Liu, Computer Science and Technology, Harbin Institute of Technology, Shenzhen, China
Fernando Lyardet, Urban Software Institute GmbH, Germany
Perry D. Moerland, Bioinformatics Laboratory, Amsterdam UMC, University Amsterdam, Netherlands
Juan J. Pantrigo, Ciencias de la Computación, Arquitectura de Computadores, Lenguajes y Sistemas Informáticos y Estadística e Investigación Operativa, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
George A. Papakostas, Computer Science, International Hellenic University, Greece
Mihail Popescu, University of Missouri, United States
Andrew Reader, Kings College London, United Kingdom
Carlo Sansone, Dipartimento di Ingegneria Elettrica e delle Tecnologie dell'Informazione, University of Naples Federico II, Italy
Li Shen, Neuroscience, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, United States
Sunghwan Sohn, Health Sciences Research, Mayo Clinic, United States
Ryszard Tadeusiewicz, Department Of Automatics and Biomedical Engineering, AGH University Science Technology, Poland
Marco Turchi, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy
Aalt van Dijk, Wageningen University Research Centre, Netherlands
Liangjiang Wang, Genetics and Biochemistry, Clemson University, United States
Wai Lok Woo, Computer and Information Science, Northumbria University, United Kingdom
Seokwon Yeom, Daegu University, Korea, Republic of
Yizhou Yu, Department of Computer Science, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong